top of page
Search
  • Jeannie

MOTD: Soft Mauve Makeup Look Ft Tarte Pretty Paintbox Colletor's Makeup Case Holiday 2016 Limite

Face:

Tarte Clean Slate Poreless Primer (Sample)

Tarte Rainforst of the Sea Foundation - Light Neutral

Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Concealer - Medium

Tarte Pretty Paintbox Colletor's Makeup Case - Provocative (Contour)

Undereyes:

Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Concealer - Medium

Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Concealer - Light/Medium

Tarte Pretty Paintbox Colletor's Makeup Case - Waterlilies (Setting Concealers)

Brows:

Tarte Pretty Paintbox Colletor's Makeup Case - Silhouette

Eyes:

Tartiest Lash Paint Mascara - Black (Top & Bottom)

Tarte Clean Slate 360 Creaseless Eye Primer (Sample)

Tarte Pretty Paintbox Colletor's Makeup Case - Pearl Earring (Brow Bone Highlights), Frameworthy (Creases/Lower Lash Lines), Hearts & Crafts (Inner and Outer Lids), Get Surreal (Centre Lids)

False Lashes:

Duo Glue - Brush On Adhesive With Vitamins - White

Kiss Lashes - 01

Cheeks:

Tarte Pretty Paintbox Colletor's Makeup Case - Moment (Blush)

Tarte Pretty Paintbox Colletor's Makeup Case - Authentic (Highlights)

Lips:

Tarteist Glossy Lip Paint - Ovbi (Deluxe Size)

Thoughts:

My husband asked me what I wanted for my birthday. I choose the Tarte Pretty Paintbox Collector's Makeup Case Holiday 2016 Limited Edition for my birthday gift. Tarte is a eco friendly, cruelty free and vegan free cosmetic company.

Packaging: The entire packaging got this 1960's graphic design with value sticker on the top corner. On the back it show the ingredients. On the side it show it what the palette looks like and what inside the kit. It a rectangle package.

On the bottom of the front box it got this gold plate with Tarte Logo name on it. On both sides of the box it got this 1960's graphic design with bold colors. Around the sides it got metallic gold. It got a hidden magnet that makes opening and closing easier.

Descriptions: This range from matte, stain and shimmery finish. The shades name fonts are imprint into the cardboard display. It got a plastic sheet that protect the eyeshadows and 4 cheek pieces. On the left side there 24 single eyeshadows. The right side on the top there a tab that lift up to the jewelry box and under the lid it have a mirror that comes with one full size of liquid liner, and two deluxe sizes of the mascara and lipgloss. On the bottom there 1 blush, 1 highlighter and 2 bronzers.

On the eyeshadows and the 4 cheek pieces got imprint of Tarte Logo name on it. The 4 cheek pieces tree leaves design to them

On the jewelry lid it said Imagine, Create, Inspire Tarte. Inside of the jewelry box it have mirror which is not a descent size. It got the removable plastic tray case that hold the mascara, liquid liner and the lipgloss which I usually toss it out.

Tartiest Lash Paint Mascara got this gold with black splash cap, the tube is black with gold font and the brush is round. Tarte Rainforest of the Sea So Fine Micro Liner tube is black with gold fonts and the cap got this swirls of blue and purple mix to it. The pen is a thin and is a felt tip. Tarteist Glossy Lip Paint cap is gold with clear tube to see the shade of the color and the wand is doe foot but both sides are slant

Tartiest Lash Paint Mascara and Tarte Rainforest of the Sea So Fine Micro Liner is safe for contact lens wearers. I smelt the eyeshadows and the 4 cheek pieces it got this weird plastic smell to it and the lipgloss got no scent.

Colors Descriptions: Left Side Box:

Row 1 Glitter Glue - Off White Shimmery Nudes - Matte Cream With Yellow Undertone Bronze Casting - Copper with Bronze Reflect Silhoutte - Matte Black

Row 2 Waterlilies - Matte Cream Van Gogh With It - Matte Warm Brown Metal Work - Shimmery Coppery Red Charcoal Sketch - Matte Dark Black

Row 3 Pearl Earring - Shimmery White Frameworthy - Cool Light Brown First Impression - Shimmery Chacoral Grey with Multi Colors Relfect Starry Night - Matte Navy

Row 4 Fresco - Matte Cream Hearts & Crafts - Matte Pink with Brown Undertone Selfie Portrait - Shimmery Rose Gold One Too Manet - Matte Dark Plum

Row 5 Porcelain Dali - Matte Warm Off Pink Monochrome - Shimmery Beige Taupe Hot Moma - Shimmery Cranberry With Red Reflect Stained Glass - Matte Cranberry

Row 6 Pastel - Matte Pink I Lourve It - Matte Dusty Mauve Get Surreal - Shimmery Pink Still Life - Matte Eggplant

Right Side Box Top: Tartiest Lash Paint Mascara - Black Tarte Rainforest of the Sea So Fine Micro Liner - Matte Blackest Black Tarteist Glossy Lip Paint Ovbi - Warm Peachy Nude

Right Side Box Bottom: Amazonian Clay Blush Moment - Cool Light Coral Amazonian Clay Highlighter Authentic - Cool Gold Amazonian Clay Bronzer Unique - Cool Matte Brown Shimmer With Orange Undertone Amazonian Clay Bronzer Provacative - Cool Matte Brown

Shades Swatches From The Left To the Right: Row 1 - Glitter Glue, Nudes, Bronze Casting, Silhouette

Row 2 - Waterlilies, Van Gogh With It, Metal Work, Charcoal Sketch

Row 3 - Pearl Earring, Frameworthy, First Impression, Starry Night

Row 4 - Fresco, Hearts & Crafts, Selfie Portrait, One Too Manet

Row 5 - Porcelain Dali, Monochrome, Hot Moma, Stained Glass

Row 6 - Pastel, I Lourve It, Get Surreal, Still Life

Amazonian Clay Blush Moment -

Amazonian Clay Highlighter Authentic -

Amazonian Clay Bronzer Unique -

Amazonian Clay Bronzer Provacative -

Tartiest Lash Paint Mascara - Black

Tarte Rainforest of the Sea So Fine Micro Liner - Matte Blackest Black

Tarteist Glossy Lip Paint Ovbi - Warm Peachy Nude

Final Thoughts: First of all I'm glad that I got to try out the mascara, liquid liner and highlighter. I'm not 100% sure if the highlight is part of the Rainforest of the Sea palette or the new highlight they just brought out or they create the new highlight for this kit only. For the full sizes the Tartiest Lash Paint Mascara is $28.00, Tarte Rainforest of the Sea So Fine Micro Liner is $26.00 and Tarteist Glossy Lip Paint is $24.00. The eyeshadows and the 4 cheek pieces have this soft creamy texture to it. Some of the lighter shades was bit chalky. The eyeshadows and the 4 cheek pieces are buildable and blendable.

I noticed that First Impression and Starry Night colors was opposite. First Impression should be the Matte Navy and Starry Night should be the Shimmery Chacoral Grey with Multi Colors Relfect that my option. This kit is good for someone who likes neutral eyeshadows but want a pop of colors. This palette can easily go from a day to night look. I feel this palette will work on porcelain to light/medium skin tones. When I read on the Sephora website that the 4 pieces cheek palette will suit all skin tones, but it also fail to mention that the eyeshadows will suitable for all eye colors and carter to different skin tones. For a someone who got darker to deepest skin tones this palette will be a hit and miss. The lighter shades might show up ashy but the darker shades will show up more of a jewel tones colors. I feel liked the 3 of the 4 cheek pieces it wouldn't showed up on darker to deepest skin tones. The blush and bronzers are more of a cool tone shades. The highlight might show up since it the subtle cool tone gold. The lipgloss would show up as a milky pink. I have no said on the mascara and liquid liner it depend on them if they like it or not. I wish Tarte have more cosmetics products carter to their customers that have dark to deepest skin tones.

My thought on the Tarte Pretty Paintbox Collector's Makeup Case this palette is ok. The miss for me was the neutral eyeshadows and the blush they were too light for me. When I blended Frameworthy into my creases I had to build up the color just to showed up. This was the same for Hearts & Crafts and Get Surreal. I didn't find any fallout on the eyeshadows. I'm not a fan of the mascara it doesn't hold up the curls on my lashes. I had to build up the blush nothing really showed up. I wasn't too impressed with lipgloss I have to layer it to get it to show up. The highlight was subtle glow. I used Silhouette to fill in my brows and Waterlilies to set my undereyes concealers. I'm going to try out Glitter Glue as my highlights. I haven't try out the liquid liner so I'm not sure if I'm going to purchase it in the future. I'm going to try to use cream base for the lighter shades to see if it show up. I'm challenging myself to use this palette.This palette it's good for someone who likes going on road trips it got everything in one palette. For air travels the packaging is bulky and take room in the suitcase. The con is the mirror is not big enough to see what you are doing.

When Tarte comes out with their new holiday or limited edition collections I wish they would used the same formula like the Tartelette In Bloom Clay Eyeshadow palette. I also would like to see Tarte use different nationalities customers that are porcelain to deepest skin tones with different undertones cool, warm and neutral to test out the products to see how the products will stand out on their skins, eyes and lips.

*I looked into this palette the Tarte Cosmetics and Ulta Beauty websites doesn't have it. Tarte Pretty Paintbox Collector's Makeup Case is available on the Sephora website. I'm not sure if it in stores yet.

Prices: Sephora Canada: $77.00 (Value Worth $543.00) Sephora U.S.A: $59.00 (Value Worth $418.00)

bottom of page