top of page
Search
  • Jeannie

Sleek Makeup Goodnight Sweetheart Palette/VIP Lipstick Limited Edition Thoughts

Back in 2008/2009, before the fame and popularity that it is known for today, Sleek Makeup Storm Palette was featured on a Youtube segment. I brought two Sleek Makeup palettes in 2009 from a Canadian website, before the company went out of service.

About Sleek Makeup is a UK base cosmetics company. They are an affordable brand and is a cruelty free company. Their eyeshadows are mineral based.

Packaging: The package case entails two sealed stickers on top and on the bottom. The Goodnight Sweetheart packaging is really cute. The detailing incorporates a field with a heart shaped tree with little glowing hearts. I think each palettes' packaging has a different design on it. The lid has 'Sleek Makeup' written across it in a shiny font. On the back, the basic name of the company and the palette selection is indicated. This palette is packaged in a thin sleek black packaging, rectrangle in shape with a descent sized mirror. It a hard compact with a tiny clicker to open and close the lid.

Descriptions: Goodnight Sweetheart is a warm palette that ranges in colors of dusty rose, plum and iridescent colors. This is a mineral based eyeshadows palette. There are 12 eyeshadows which contain 2 matte shades, 1 iridescent and 9 shimmery eyeshadows. It comes with a duel end sponge eyeshadow stick for easy applicatioln. A plastic cover sheet is present with the names of the colors printed on it, to protect the eyeshadows. The eyeshadows are presented in a smooth presentation with no prints or design on them, as to back when an imprint of a diamond is presented on each color.

Colors Descriptions: Top Row: Seduction - Shimmery Brown with Silver Reflect Velvet Wrap - Shimmery Reddish Plum Romance - Matte Plum with Brown Undertone Lingerie - Shimmery White Gold Dusk - Shimmery Cool Brown Love - Shimmery Rose Gold

Bottom Row: By The Fireside - Shimmery Copper Hold Me Tight - Matte Brown Sweet Dreams - Shimmery Bronze Love Is In The Air - Shimmery Plum Snuggle - Iridescent Blue Green Sleeping Beauty - Shimmery Taupe

Shades Swatches Going Across From Left To Right: Top Row: Seduction - Velvet Wrap - Romance - Lingerie - Dusk - Love -

Bottom Row Across From Left To Right: By The Fireside - Hold Me Tight - Sweet Dreams - Love Is In The Air - Snuggle - Sleeping Beauty -

Thoughts: When I saw the ad for the Sleek Makeup Goodnight Sweetheart palette on Facebook, it definitely caught my eyes, very much love at first sight. I thought this palette was very me--the colors were so sweet and romantic all in one palette. The pigmentation and blend is excellent. The only downside to this palette is that there were no matte shades for brow bone highlights. The 2 items that are good, in my eyes, are 'Hold Me Tight', used to do my brows, also good for contouring; and 'Lingerie' which is a good highlighter. If I forget to do my brows, contours and highlights this would be the shades I would use to make up for all that since the shade is so versatile. I'm not 100% sure if this is product is flight friendly but for road trips, this would come in handy, since the size is just compact enough. Sleek Makeup has 22 eyeshadow palettes to choose from with designs suited for all skin tones.

Prices: 10.49 Euro 8.99 GBP

Sleek Makeup VIP Lipstick - Paparazzi Limited Edition

Packaging: This is a your basic drugstore lipstick. This product is simply sealed with a sticker on the side with the lipstick name. On the one side it says 'Sleek Makeup', and on the other side is says 'Lip Vip Semi - Matte'. Both written in a shiny font. The lip color is presented in a sleek black square lipstick tube. The name of the lip color is located on the bottom of the lipstick tube. Descriptions: This is a moisturising semi-matte lipstick with a intense pigmented velvety finish. Despie the matte finish, this lipstick does not dry out the lips.

Color Description: Paparazzi - Dark Red with a brown undertone

Shade Swatch: Paparazzi -

Thought: This collection has 9 lipsticks to chooses from, 3 of them are part of their new limited editon collection: Icon, Elite and Paparazzi. I feel that with 'Icon' and 'Elite', I could find like colors in my usual collection, nothing super extraordinary. I ended up going with 'Paparazzi', as I thought it was a unqiue color to try out. The pigmentation is good. It's creamy and has a semi matte finish, not completely matte. This lipstick has a hint of vanilla. This was my first time trying out the lipstick and it was pretty comfortable to wear. The only downfall of this collection, I thought, was the placement of the lipstick's name and the logo. It makes it a little more difficult to look for in my collection of lipsticks. If I lost this lipstick, I would cry. It would be hard to find a good dupe for this shade. All lipsticks shades will look different dependent on skin tones and the pigmentation of the lips. I would repurchase from this company again. I wish they would give North American online shoppers a view on international price exchange rates/conversions while shopping on their website. I also wish Sleek Makeup would expand into the North American market, which will then offer easier access to pick up their lines at local stores.

Prices: 7.49 EURO 5.50 GBP

*For International customers, the website does not offer price conversion to Canadian or US Dollars. Customers either choose prices in Euros or GBPs which then they can convert funds from that to their local money. *International shipping takes 7 to 15 business days, untracked. 3 to 12 business days tracked. I purchase my products with a tracking number. If customers spend 50.00 Euro or GBP, they get free delivery on their purchase. When you sign up on their website, you get 10% off on your first purchase.

*When I received the package, the products were wrapped twice, in two envelope bags. The outside envelope is black in color, with your home address, a sticker that says 'customs declaration' and a bar code sticker. Inside the black envelope, is a white envelope with your receipt and your products nicely wrap in bubble wrap for extra protection. Two things I noticed when I received my package: the front of the package shows my home address with the name as 'Gift Recipient', never indicating my actual name but the receipt order form inside the package has my actual name on it. The second thing I noticed, is that the receipt inside my package shows different prices than the one sent to me in my confirmation email right after I placed my order. I'm assuming the different in prices accounts for the conversion of currency from Euros to the local currency of the customer's whereabouts. A delivery charge is also applicable to all purchases. The shipping wasn't bad, it took 2 weeks to get into Canada.*

Social Medias/Website: Facebook - Sleek Makeup Instagram - SleekMakeup YouTube - Sleek Makeup Twitter - @Sleek Makeup Website: www.sleekmakeup.com

39 views0 comments
bottom of page