top of page
Search
  • Jeannie

What Social Media Made Me Buy

I was influenced to buy all these makeup products, largely due to the advertisements through such social media as Facebook, Instagram, YouTube and Snapchat. I decided to purchase 6 highend brands and 6 drugstore brands

1) Tarte Rainforest Of The Sea Foundation & Concealers

This was the most hyped up on Instagram. When it launch in Sephora they only had select foundation shades to choose from. I liked it really much it was super lightweight on my skin.

2) Laura Mercier Matte Radiance Baked Powder Compact - Highlight 01

I've seen Laura Vitale and Tiffany D talk about this Laura Mercier highlighter. I went into a Sephora store to swatch it. Social media was right, it gives you a natural highlight glow, so I decided to buy it.

3) Mac Lipsticks

See Sheer - Lustre - I've seen Carah Amelie's video "Beauty Products I Have Used Up - Empties" and thought 'See Sheer' would be a great to wear during the Spring and Summer season.

Plumful - Lustre - I saw Amelia Liana's video "What's In My Bag" featuring her top 10 lipsticks of choice. She wore this shade in the video and I thought it would be a good everyday color to wear.

4) Kat Von D Metal Crush Eyeshadow - Thunderstruck

I found this product to be the most talked about product on social media. It can be used as an eyeshadow or a highligher. I went into a Sephora and they had one left so I definitely had to snatch it up. The Sephora cashier talked me up and mentioned that she felt it to be the best highlighter, works on all skin tones and that I would love it.

5) Too Faced Peach Collection

The first time the Peach eyeshadow came out, I passed on it. When I heard they were going to release the palette again with brand new blushes, trio blush/highlight/bronzer,and lip oils, I had to rethink about not purchasing it the first time. The sneak preview of the peach collection peaked my interest, and I bit the bullet and bought the eyeshadow palette, blush and the trio blush/highlight/bronzer off the Sephora website. I wasn't too keen on the lip oils, so held off on those.

6) Stila Magnificent Metals Glitter & Glow Liquid Eye Shadow - Violet Vixen/Diamond Dust

I was on Pinterest when I was just looking up swatches and watched Tati GlamLifeGuru's video. She was swatching all the shades on her arm and I was sold on this color just because it was super shimmery

7) Cover Girl 3 in 1 Foundation - Warm Beige

I don't remember what Youtuber I was watching. I was sold on this foundation product, when she said it kept her oily skin looking matte all day. I went out and brought it when it first launched in Canada. I definitely invested in a second bottle later on. I really enjoy it. I've used this on and off for years.

8) L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Glosses - Shanghai Kiss/Aphrodite Kiss

I saw Tati GlamLifeGuru's video, where she swatched all the 8 shades on her own lips. I ended up getting two different shades at the drugstore. I was a little disappointed the drugstores had no testers, otherwise I probably would've purchased more shades.

9) L'Oreal Colour Riche Eyeshadow

Teal Couture - I was scrolling through Jessica Grant's Instagram one day. I fell in love with the teal shade. I ended up going to 3 different drugstores to locate this single eyeshadow color, because I wanted it that bad. I lucked out, as it was the last one left when I finally found it.

Pain Au Chocolat - I saw this product in one of Amelia Liana's videos. I think she was doing her makeup when she said it was a perfect shade to wear everyday and she was right. This shade was difficult to find, it was sold out everywhere. Just my luck I went to Superstore and found this on display.

10) L'Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow

Amber Rush - I used to watch EmilyNoel83's video and she talked about this one shade, but it was a limited edition. At the time, it wasn't available in Canada. When it was finally released in Canada, I went out and picked this shade up. I used to wear this shade everyday.

Glistening Garnet - I used to watched MakeupUpByCamila2 aka Camila Coelho's video. I saw her use this cranberry-shade under her lower lash lines. I went to Wal-Mart and picked up this exact shade.

11) L'Oreal Magic Lumi

I don't remember who I was watching on YouTube. This person said this product was a dupe for Mac's strobe cream/liquid. It was difficult to pump out and I had to shake it up so the liquid is well mixed together, before pumping it onto my applicator. This was really expensive in Canada. I waited for this to go on sale

12) Essence Makeup Lipsticks

I've seen this product in many shades on Instagram. I wanted to venture out of my comfort zone and try it out, since Essence makeup won't break the bank. I wanted all four shades but it was difficult to find. The two places that I found to carry this line was Superstore and Shoppers Drug Mart. The first Superstore location didn't have it so I went to the first Shoppers Drug Mart I saw, and luckily, they had the lipsticks. Downside to my experience, all the lipstick bullets were touched and I was a bit grossed out by it. I wasn't comfortable in trying it at that location. The second Shoppers Drug Mart I went to, didn't carry the limited edition as the display indicated that only selected stores were to carry it. The third Shoppers Drug Mart I went to had the display. I went and checked out the display and opened the lipstick lids to make sure the lipstick bullets weren't touched. I was one happy camper I finally own these products after searching for it for so long

bottom of page