top of page
Search
  • Jeannie

My Top 5 Highend Highlights


My top 5 drugstore highlights that I really loved. My skin tone is light/medium with a neutral undertone. I'm the type of person who likes a more subtle highlight

1) Laura Mercier Matte Radiance Baked Powder - Highlight - 01

Shade: Champagne

I bought this when I watched Makeup By Tiffany D and Laura Vitale Youtube channel on how they raved about how natural this highlighter was. This powder has no shimmers to it, but a soft sheen.

I tried to use this when I do more of a natural look or when I used too much shimmers on my face and need something to settle it and give it less of a dramatic look.

2) Benefit High Beam & Dandelion Twinkle

Shade: High Beam - Pinkish White

Shade: Dandelion Twinkle - Pale Pale with tiny shimmers

High Beam - A classmate raved about this product and how much she loved it. I went out and bought it at Shoppers Drug Mart, as they now carry Benefit in stores.

The first time I try it out, I hated it so much. I found the shade unsuitable to my skin tone. I stopped using it, but fast forward to today, I decided to give it a try again. I feel more experienced with makeup and thought I was able to utilize it to the best of it’s capability. I really wanted High Beam to work out for me. I used a brush, tapped 3 dots onto my cheekbones, and used my fingertips to massage and apply the liquid into my skin before it sets. This product gave me that subtle glow that I truly desired.

Dandelion Twinkle - When Dandelion Twinkle came out I saw pictures and swatches on social media. I wasn't sure if this would work out for me. I went to Sephora and headed to the Benefit display. I swatched onto my hand it was super shimmery. The first time I used it I was really disappointed, it didn't show up on my cheekbones.

I kept on layering it until the highlights showed up on my skin tone.

I played around with High Beam and Dandelion Twinkle, starting to ply with layering them together and the results were stunning. It gave me that perfect subtle glow

3) Kat Von D Metal Crush Eyeshadow - Thunderstruck

Shade: White with yellow undertone with tiny flecks of gold - Iridescent Pink

Kat Von D Metal Crush Eyeshadow in Thunderstruck always sell out in Sephora stores, so it was quite difficult to get my hands on it. Online, it states that it is the most popular and versatile product. It doubles as a eyeshadow and highlighter.

I caved in and bought Thunderstruck and now, I understand why customers rave about this product in this shade. When I put this on my cheekbones, it appear yellowish gold in the sunlight and magically changes into a iridescent pink

4) Becca After Glow Palette - Rose Gold

Shade: Pink with a copper undertone with tiny flecks of gold

I bought this last January at The Bay, after my wisdom teeth surgery. I already own the travel sized Becca Opal highlighter, but this palette has 3 highlighters and 2 blushes.

I mainly wanted this palette for the Rose Gold. Rose Gold is a warmer more complimenting shade for my skin tone. During the Winter seasons, I use the Becca Rose Gold just to warm up my face.

5) Becca x Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed - Champagne Pop

Shade: Peachy

When this was first released onto the Sephora website, it was instantly sold out. I went into Sephora to see if they had it in stock, which surprisingly, they did. It was in such high demand, that the store kept the products behind the counter. I was told that Sephora stores only had limited quantities due to how popular the highlighters were. When I bought it, I wasn't sure how or if I liked it or not. The first time I used Champagne Pop, I used a little too much. I now use it with a light hand, to get a subtle glow.

bottom of page