top of page
Search
  • Jeannie

My Thoughts: Deciem The Ordinary Foundations


About:

Deciem started in 2013 out in Toronto, Ontario. They are an independent company, that specializes in products for skin care to grooming products. The company is a cruelty free brand, loving their furry animals. As of June 15 2017, they are now partnered with the Estee Lauder Company.

Packaging:

The pump feels like it’s rubber. The pump is a twist on twist off, without an actual cap. The bottle is a plastic bottle, as opposed to glass like many other foundations found in the market.

Description: There are 21 shades to choose from, in both their beauty lines. They range from lightest shades possible, to the darkest shades. They also pair each foundation shades with the right undertones that would suit their customers skin to more of a perfection. This how they pair the undertones to their foundations.

Foundation Shades:

1.0 - Very Fair - P, N, NS

1.1 - Fair - P, N

1.2 - Light - N, P, Y, YG

2.0 - Light Medium - P, N, YG

2.1 - Medium - P, Y

3.0 - Medium Dark - R, Y

3.1 - Dark - R, Y

3.2 - Deep - N, R

3.3 - Very Deep - N

Undertone Shades:

N - Neutral Undertone

P - Pink Undertone

R - Red Undertone

Y - Yellow Undertone

NS - Neutral Undertone with Silver Highlights

YS - Yellow Undertone with Gold Highlights

Coverage Foundation - High Coverage

Information:

PH 6.00-7.50

Water-Free - X

Alcohol-Free - Checkmark

Oil-Free - Checkmark

Silicone-Free - X

Nut-Free - Checkmark

Vegan - Checkmark

Gluten-Free - Checkmark

Soy-Free - Checkmark

Cruelty-Free - Checkmark

Serum Foundation - Lightweight

Information:

PH 6.00-8.25

Water-Free - X

Alcohol-Free - Checkmark

Oil-Free - Checkmark

Silicone-Free - X

Nut-Free - Checkmark

Vegan - Checkmark

Gluten-Free - Checkmark

Soy-Free - Checkmark

Cruelty-Free - Checkmark

*I'm not 100% what all this information are meant to tell us. Checkmark means it doesn't have in the ingredients*

Color Description/Swatches: Coverage Foundation - 2.0 P - Light Medium Pink Undertone - Light Pink Undertone

Coverage Foundation - 2.0 N - Light Medium Neutral Undertone - Mixture of yellow and pink undertone

Color Description/Swatches: Serum Foundation - 2.0 P - Light Medium Pink Undertone

Serum Foundation - 2.0 N - Light Medium Neutral Undertone

Coverage Foundation - Full Coverage

Left Side: Pink Undertone Buffing Brush Pro:

- Works well with matte and illuminating primers

- Blends out easily

- Full coverage

- Not sticky

- Work wells with cream and powder products

Con: - Didn't covered up spots

Right Side: Netural Undertone Beauty Blender Pro: - Works well with matte and illuminating primer - Blends out easy - Full coverage - Not sticky - Work wells with cream and powder products

Con: - Didn't covered up spots

I used the Coverage for a week now. I usually do 2 pumps of foundation for my face and neck. Since I did half my face with two different undertones, I used 1 pump only. There was a little bit left on my hand I just dot on my face to see if it’s full coverage. The foundation liquid is not thick but more of a lightweight product. It’s got that powder texture and a dewy finish. It sets pretty quickly. Since I have oily skin, this was extremely lightweight for a full coverage foundation. Throughout the week, for myself, I didn't use setting powder to set my foundation. I noticed throughout the day, my skin looked oily. Thursday, Friday and Saturday I used a setting powder to lock in the foundation. I don't do touch ups but by the end of the day, my face was oily. I personally didn’t feel this was a full coverage, it felt more of a light to medium coverage.

Serum Foundation - Light Coverage

Left Side: Pink Undertone Buffing Brush Pro: - Works out matte and illuminating primer - Blends out easy - Full coverage - Not sticky - Work wells with cream and powder products

Con: - Doesn't cover up spots - Need to add more foundation to each use

Right Side: Netural Undertone Beauty Blender Pro: - Works out matte and illuminating primer - Blends out easy - Full coverage - Not sticky - Work wells with cream and powder products

Con: - Doesn't cover up spots - Need to add more foundation to each use

I used the Serum for a week now. I usually do 2 pumps of foundation for my face and neck. Since I did half my face with two one different undertones I used 1 pump only. There was a little bit left on my hand I just dot on my face it such a lightweight coverage. The foundation liquid is more a watery. It got that powder texture and dewy finished. It set pretty quickly. Since I got oily skin this was extremely lightweight. it felt like I was not wearing any foundations. Sunday and Thursday I don't use setting powder to set my foundation. I noticed throughout the day I looked oily more in the T-Zone area. Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, I used a setting powder to lock in the foundation. I don't do touch ups throughout but end of the day my face was oily

Thoughts: I never heard of ‘Deciem’ before, until right before I decided to test this line out, after seeing their ad on my Facebook feed and Instagram ads. I followed some magazines on Facebook and they were all raving and previewing two foundations that were affordable. I haven't purchased from Deciem website before. I emailed the company and got a response to my curiosities, the same day. The customer service was friendly and answered my questions thoroughly. I asked if they were cruelty free and found out they are; they have an office and shipping warehouse in Toronto, Ontario; and the customer service consultant mentioned that since the foundations was in high demand, it will take another 15 days to ship out to their customers. I ordered the foundations on April 30/2017 by May 25/2017 I got an email from them notifying me of my order with it’s tracking number and informed me that it was being shipped out. I received my order by May 30/2017.

Foundations:

When I decided on my purchase, I went with The Ordinary Coverage and Serum foundation, I noticed both products to be in Light Medium with pink and neutral undertones. I decided to compare the undertones against each other to see if I can tell the difference. I can tell the difference from both undertones after I applied it onto my face. The left side was more pink and right had more of a yellow undertone. I let the foundation settle in while I finished off my makeup. I found both undertone to have settled in really well into my skin. If I'm planning to get another foundations from them I'm going to get the Light Medium Yellow Highlight just to see the difference.

Brushes:

I'm going to apply this product with a buffing brush. I noticed the difference between the buffering brush and the damp beauty blender, both producing totally different results.

Left Side: Buffering brush I dot the foundation half my face and neck, blending out really nicely.

Right Side: Damp beauty blender did exactly the same thing but I felt it soaked up more of the foundation up. I have to add a bit more of foundation to get it evenly all over the face.

I loved both foundation. Both were super lightweight and had a buildable coverage. I do think this would work for all skin types. I'm not sure about people with sensitive skin, as to whether the ingredients would break out the skin or not. Both foundation is good, giving the skin a natural finished look and the feeling as if I'm not wearing any foundation. I liked how the product was in a plastic bottle. Not sure if it is travel-friendly, as it may not be as durable as a glass container. I didn't liked rubbery pump, as it got dirty quickly, for me.

Pricest: Coverage Foundation - $6.90 CDN Serum Foundation - $6.70 CDN

Social Media: Facebook: Deciem Instagram:@deciem Shop:www.deciem.com/category/makeup Twitter: @deciem

I personally made this purchase off their website, with shipping. Shipping cost is either $4.99 for shipping or make a purchase of $25.00 and get free shipping to Canada. I'm unsure about international shipping rates. For Canadian customers, they ship it from the warehouse from Toronto, Ontario. Deciem send their customers a copy of their invoice of their purchase, along with a tracking number. The carrier is Canada Post. I'm not sure about their exchange or return policy. They do have stores in different parts of the world. They have 4 stores in Toronto, 1 store in Mississauga Canada, 1 store in Seoul Korea, 1 store in Mexico City, 1 store in Melbourne Australia, 1 store in Sydney Australia and 1 store in London England.

72 views0 comments
bottom of page