top of page
Search
  • Jeannie

My Thoughts: Maybelline Super Stay Matte Ink


When the liquid lipsticks tend came out highend cosmetics brands had it out. Nothing for the drugstores. When Maybelline Super Stay Matte Ink came out it's is the liquid lipsticks for the drugstores but more afforable.

Packaging/Scent:

The product is presented in a square tube with a white cap and silver and red font. On the bottom of the tube, there's a clear sticker printed worth the shade number and name of The color. The wand is a doe foot applicator.Each shade pin the packaging indicates the color that matches the gloss colors. The scent, to me, smells a little strange.

Description:

Maybelline Super Stay Matte Ink has this long lasting formula that stays on for 16 hours straight.

Color Description Going Top To Bottom: Loyalist - Light Pinkish Brown Dreamer - Mauve Pink Lover - Mauve Romantic - Magenta Heroine - True Red Pioneer - Coral Orange Creator - Violet Believer - Plum Escapist - Aubergine Voyager - Wine

Shades Swatches Going Top To Bottom:

Loyalist -

Dreamer -

Lover -

Romantic -

Heroine -

Pioneer -

Creator -

Believer -

Escapist -

Voyager -

Wrist Swatches Top To Bottom:

Tip:

Before applying the Super Stay Matte Ink, I recommend using a lip scrub to get rid of the dead skin off the lips and then apply a lip balm to moisturize the lips before wearing the matte ink. This will give you the best smooth look. My lips are dried and from my experience, I noticed spots of dry patches when application of the product had been placed. To remove the liquid lipstick at the end of each night, I use the Wal-Mart Equate Facial Cleansing Towelettes, any simple makeup remover, baby oil gel or coconut oil, and it usually comes off easily for me.

Thoughts:

Before I commited on buying all 10 shades, I was on SnapChat and I saw a sneak-peak of the new Maybelline Super Stay Matte Ink before it was launched into stores.

I watched a YouTube video of Beauty With Emily Fox trying out all 10 shades on her lips. I knew the shades will not be the same colors for all different skin tones, so I definitely recommend going in to a store and test the shades out yourself.

Maybelline Super Stay Matte Ink was hard to find in the drugstores, it was either only located in selected stores or most companies didn't have stock of this product yet. Wal-Mart, London Drugs and Superstore stores had it on a shelf display and Shoppers Drug Mart stores were displaying them either as a table display or as a full stand displays, at the time I was looking for these products.

The display only tested Loyalist and Romantic. When I saw it at Shoppers Drugs Mart, I bought Lover, Believer and Escapist. I went to another Shoppers Drug Mart

to find more shades. I only found Pioneer, Heronie, Creator and Voyager. My final trip was to Wal-Mart and from there, I bought the final shades I needed which was Loyalist, Romantic and Dreamer.

When I made all the purchases, I made sure the seal was not opened. I tested this out by twisting the cap. If the cap doesn't budge, it means it's completely sealed. On the display, I saw the broken seals and it was quite gross.

All drugstore prices will be differ a bit. I tend to go through my flyers to see if they are on sale. Wal-Mart does price matching, all you need to do is provide them with the most recent flyers from their competing companies. With the 10 shades that is available there lots of shades to choose from. All shades will show up differently on different skin tones.

Maybelline Super Stay Matte Ink reminds me of their Super Stay 24 Hours Lip Color, the one side is a balm and the other is the color. However, this was an all in one product with the balm added into the mixture. I applied the liquid lipstick onto my lips, the texture was creamy and the formula was comfortable to wear. After I applied the liquid lipstick to my lips, I waited for it to dry completely. On my lips, I felt it being sticky when I first applied it and within a few hours the sticky texture will disappear.

When I tapped my lips with my fingertips to see if the liquid lipstick dries down, little bits of the color left behind on my fingers. It took 10 to 15 mins to dry down completely. When I eat, drink or wipe my lips, the liquid lipstick really stays put so there's no touch-ups needed. This product is kissproof when tested on my husband and my baby nephew. I really like it since it was comfortable to wear, it's kissproof and it's affordable.

The downfall for me is that Believer and Escapist went on patchy and applied uneven. I felt Dreamer was me putting on concealer on my lips. I wish Maybelline offered a nude shade in a warmer tone. I also found that it was stickier than I like my lip products to be so I wasn't a fan off the texture. And it took forever to dry down, so I feel like I have to apply it a bit in advance before I can wear it out without worrying about it.

My Favorite shades are:

Loyalist Lover Romantic Heroine Pioneer Voyager

Pricest: London Drugs - $11.99 Shoppers Drug Mart - $12.99 Superstore - $11.99 Wal-Mart - $ 9.96

Social Media: Facebook: Maybelline New York - Canada/ Maybelline New York Instagram: Maybelline SnapChat: Maybelline Shop: www.maybelline.ca Twitter: Maybelline

*Unfortunately, I have not personally made a purchase off the website, so I'm unsure about international shipping rates.*

7 views0 comments
bottom of page